![]() I AM NOT A SPAMMERRecently a spammer has been using the wpidalamar.com address in their spam. However, wpidalamar.com has nothing to do with the spammer. It seems that they are trying to trick users into believing that my site is somehow affiliated with them. If you look below, "pod2000.wpidalamar.com" is referenced as the optional username part of the url (http://username:password@website). The actuall domain name appears to be either tripod or deja, but my netscape barfs on the URL, so I can't quite be sure how it would be parsed. It's actually a rather devious trick, because if someone were to click on the link, the first thing they would see in their browser URL bar is the "http://pod2000.wpidalamar.com" part, even though that's not the true destination of the http request.This is the link in the original email. It doesn't go to wpidalamar.com, but it make is appear to. Using this same technique, I can make a slashdot.org link appear to contain my web page. Go ahead, click on that link. Your location bar will make it appear like you're viewing slashdot, while in actuality you are viewing my web page. Here are some other examples: www.microsoft.com This really leads to a sucks.com page. www.yahoo.com This really leads to an excite page. The only reason that I can think of as to why I was targeted is my anti-spam web page that lists a few things you can do to stop spam. |
|
WPIDalamar.com is the personal web site of Marc Hughes, and there is more to it than just this page. Feel free to go to the home page to see more of it. |
Email me: mhughes @ wpidalamar.com Feeling Lost? Try the site map |